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Best Loan Types for Startup Businesses

August 22, 2022 by Dean Noory

If you’re an aspiring entrepreneur, it’s essential to find funding for your business. You may already have your dream idea in mind, and you want to see if it has the potential to become a successful business. Securing a loan can help you achieve your business’ goals and help you achieve your entrepreneurial dreams.

SBA loans

SBA loans provide funding for businesses with less than $5 million in annual revenues. These loans are backed by the government and are available through participating lenders in your area. Typically, these loans offer low interest rates and require little-to-no collateral to secure them.  The SBA also guarantees a portion of these loans. If you default on the loan, the lender can get full payment from the SBA, which provides security for the lender.

SBA loans are available in the following categories:

  • Microloan: This program offers loans of $50,000 or less to small businesses with less than 500 employees. You can borrow up to $250, 000 for startup costs or working capital.
  • 7(a) Loans: This program allows you to borrow up to $5 million on an SBA guaranteed portion. You can borrow up to $43 million in total. In addition to startup costs, you can also borrow working capital and fund special investments, such as real estate and equipment purchases. The SBA guarantees a portion of these loans, generally 80 percent of the total amount.
  • 504 Loans: 504 loans are backed by the SBA, but collateral is required. This program offers long-term fixed-rate financing for real estate and is fixed between 10 and 20 years, with repayment terms extending to as much as 25 years.

Microloans

A microloan is a small business loan between $500 to $50, 000 that is issued by a bank or credit union to individuals looking to start a business of their own. Microloans are available to business owners with less-than-perfect credit histories or who lack collateral to secure larger loans. Some online lenders also offer microloans that do not require credit checks or collateral for borrowers who are unable to secure traditional financing.

Online business loans

Business loans offered through online lenders provide funds to entrepreneurs looking to start or expand a business online. These loans are funded by investors who want a return on their investment in the form of interest on the loan. Like other types of startup loans, online business loans are often available for shorter terms than bank loans. Online business loans also come with higher interest rates than those offered by banks.

The ease of obtaining an online loan is appealing for many business owners; however, the interest rates may be higher due to the higher risk associated with the loan type. If you apply for a loan online, you should review the interest rates and repayment plans before committing to a loan.

Personal business loans

Personal business loans are an alternative type of startup loan that does not require collateral to borrow against your home or car. These loans are usually unsecured and can carry higher interest rates than secured loans. In many cases, borrowers with poor credit scores may also be denied personal business loans.

Obtaining a personal business loan often requires your business to provide personal financial documents to prove that you can pay back the loan. Because these loans do not secure collateral, they are more likely to have high interest rates and less favorable repayment terms than secured loans.

Also angel investors are individuals who invest in startups and small businesses in exchange for a share of ownership in the business. Individuals who have access to angel investors typically do well once they receive funding; this can be especially true for entrepreneurs with weak credit histories or little experience running businesses.

They can be a valuable source of funds for new businesses; however, most angel investors require an ownership stake in the company in exchange for their funding. If you are willing to offer equity in your business, angel investors may be able to provide you with the funding you need to reach your goals. Before accepting funding from an angel investor, it is important to discuss the terms of the investment with a legal professional to ensure that you understand the terms of the agreement.

Grants

Grants do not have to be paid back, which makes them attractive to startups that may not have enough revenue to pay back a loan. However, you should not view grants as a free pass to start a business. Grants are typically non-cash and do not have a defined repayment schedule. This means that you may need to use personal funds or take out a loan to cover your business expenses if you do not receive grant funding.

Some grants also require you to work in a specific field or partner with specific companies to receive funding. You should research grants and apply for those that provide funding for your specific type of business.

Starting a business is a long and difficult process. It can take months to perfect your product and years to build a customer base. After the long hours and seemingly endless hours spent on developing your idea into a reality, you deserve to be rewarded when your business succeeds. Unfortunately, many startups fail within the first 5 years of existence, meaning that your hard work may not pay off in the end.

Friends and family

Friends and family loans are ideal for starting or expanding a business. This type of loan does not have specific repayment terms associated with them and does not require collateral to be pledged against the loan. Although these types of loans have lower interest rates than secured loans, they are more likely to carry less favorable repayment terms or require a co-signer (someone who agrees to repay the loan if you fail to) if you do not have a strong credit history.

Many startups fail because they do not have the resources necessary to fund a business in its early stages. Although you may have friends and family members who are willing to loan you money, it is important to avoid relying solely on this type of funding. If your friends and family do not know you are starting a business, they are less likely to understand your level of commitment or what it takes to start a successful business. You may need to take out a loan for tens of thousands of dollars, but your friends and family may only be willing to loan you a couple hundred dollars. This may mean that you do not have enough money to run your business properly in the beginning stages, which can hurt your chances for success.

Credit cards

Credit cards are  an ideal way to get started if you have no previously established credit and a low credit score. They are also an excellent choice if you have a higher credit limit than you need, because you can use it to cover startup costs of your business. These cards are relatively easy to get if you have a good credit history.

A business credit card is a payment card issued to companies that accept it as payment for goods and services. Unlike a personal credit card, however, a business credit card is designed for a company’s expenses and employees. Unlike business loans, business credit cards do not need collateral to qualify for financing. Instead, they are secured by the company’s accounts receivables.

Crowdfunding

If you have not yet begun to receive funding from investors or your friends and family, another option is the increasingly popular practice of crowdfunding. The rapid growth of crowdfunding platforms has made it possible for people who would have no chance of getting the capital they need to launch a business to do so.

Businesses can launch crowdfunding campaigns on sites such as Kickstarter and Indiegogo to raise the money they need to launch their products. Although these platforms can help you raise a significant amount of money in a short period of time, it is important to understand that you may not receive the money that you need for your business, especially if you need more than $25,000 to launch your product. If you are struggling to raise the money you need to start your business, you should consider using one of these sites as a last resort to kick-start your fundraising efforts. They may help you reach your goal but you should never rely on them completely to fund your business.

Quick Capital Funding Can Help

And remember, if you need any help with funding for your small business project, contact the Quick Capital Funding team, which is always available to answer all your questions and help with the small business loan you need. Services you can trust. Contact Quick Capital Funding now!

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Business and Finance Terms You Should Know

August 19, 2022 by Dean Noory

As a business professional, you have to understand the language of business and finance to communicate effectively and stay on top of the latest developments.

There are hundreds of business and finance terms you need to know to communicate effectively with peers and clients.  This article will introduce you to the most important terms and concepts in business & finance communication in a clear and simple language, and give you the confidence to communicate accurately and effectively in all situations.

Accounts Payable

It’s an account that shows how much money you owe to your suppliers for goods you’ve purchased on credit. Accounting Cycle – The period of time between the date you record a transaction (usually when you pay a bill) and the date the transaction appears on the balance sheet. This period includes the number of days between the end of the reporting period and the closing date of the books, plus the days required to prepare financial statements.

Accounts Receivable

A liability account that reports money your business owes to customers for sales that haven’t been paid for yet. An example of an accounts receivable is the $10,000 you owe to a client who ordered 5,000 widgets from you on credit, but hasn’t paid you yet. Accounts receivable are considered current liabilities because a business can collect these within one year. It’s an account that shows how much money you have collected on sales you’ve made on credit.

Asset

Something of value that you own. For example, accounts receivable is money owed to your business by customers for goods or services that have been delivered or sold but not yet paid for. Assets are everything your company owns that has value: land, buildings, inventory, cash, accounts receivable, equipment, furniture, etc. Assets are recorded on the balance sheet as “current assets” because it is assumed that they can be converted to cash within one year or less.  Businesses keep balance sheets because investors often ask for them as part of an annual review of their business. Liabilities – Money owed to others by your business. For example, accounts payable is money owed to your suppliers for goods or services that have been delivered or sold but not yet paid for. Liabilities are the opposite of assets: they are recorded on the balance sheet as “current liabilities” because it is assumed that they can be converted to cash within one year or less.

Businessman and watering pot

Balance Sheet

A Balance sheet is  a financial statement of a company’s assets, liabilities and owner’s equity at a specific point in time. Assets and liabilities are two sides of the same coin: what you owe and what you have. Assets are what you (the business) own (cash, inventory, accounts receivable). Liability is what you (the business) owe (payroll, bank debt, unpaid bills). Owner’s equity is the part of a company that is owned by the business owners (book value of the owner’s investment). Assets Account – An individual account that is simply an amount of money owed to the company by the client.

It shows the sources and uses of cash during a specific time period. To calculate a cash flow statement: subtract cash from net income; the result is cash flow from operations. Cash Flows from Operations – Cash flow generated by normal business activities; also called operating cash flows. Capital Expenditures – Expenses that increase the value of a company’s physical property (buildings, machinery, equipment) and intangible assets such as goodwill and trademarks.

Fixed Asset

A fixed asset is an asset that cannot be converted into cash within a year’s time without a substantial loss in value. The “fixed” in the term “fixed asset” means that it can’t be easily converted into cash, unlike “current assets” such as cash and accounts receivable which can be quickly converted to cash if necessary. Depreciation – The process of allocating the cost of a fixed asset over its useful life to the income statement. For example, if you buy a computer for $1,000 and estimate that it will last three years, you would depreciate the computer over three years.

Income Statement

It’s a financial statement that summarizes a company’s revenues and expenses for a specific time period, usually a year. To calculate an income statement: Start by adding up your sales for the period. Then add up all of your expenses for the period. The result is income for the period. Net Income – The difference between total revenues and total costs; also called net income or net profit or the bottom line of a P&L statement; is a measure of the profit generated by a business during an accounting period.

Liability

Refers to the obligation of one party to another; also known as a debt or debt obligation. Liabilities appear on the balance sheet as “current liabilities” because they are payable within one year; they are classified as long-term if they are payable after one year. Also, a loan which is money borrowed from a bank or other financial institution that must be repaid with interest; a loan is usually secured by collateral such as real estate, equipment or stocks.

Profit & Loss Statement

It’s a financial statement that shows the revenues, expenses and net income for a specific time period; also known as the income statement or the profit and loss statement. To calculate a profit & loss statement: Start by adding up your sales, then add up all of your expenses, the result is the income for that period. Then subtract your revenue expenses from your income. The result is your net income for the period. If the amount is positive, this is called your bottom line for the period. If the amount is negative, this is called your net profit for the period.

Annual Percentage Rate

(APR) – The rate that is calculated to show how much a loan will cost if all of the interest is paid and the loan is repaid in one year.  The APR shows the total cost of borrowing money for a full year; it is expressed as a percentage per year. Internal Rate of Return – An estimate of the average rate of return earned over a specific period of time. To find the internal rate of return: Divide the amount of total profits by the total amount of money invested; the result is the internal rate of return. Inventory Turnover Ratio – The amount of revenue generated by selling your inventory divided by the total amount of inventory you carry, usually expressed as a percentage.

Collateral

Collateral is property pledged by a borrower to secure a loan. If the borrower defaults on the loan, the mortgage lender can take possession of the collateral to make up for their loss. Common collateral includes cars, trucks, and real estate. Collateral can also be used to secure a line of credit.

Also a personal guarantee is a promise by an individual or organization to a bank or other lender that they will pay a debt if the borrower is unable to. For example, if Bob borrows $50,000 from a bank and the bank requires Bob to be personally liable for the debt, Bob must sign a personal guarantee stating that he will pay the debt if the bank loses money.

Credit Risk Factor – The probability that a borrower will make timely payments  on a loan or line of credit based on an analysis of credit history and payment history. The credit risk is higher when the borrower has a poor credit history and pays his bills late, or has few assets that can be used as security. On the other hand, if the borrower has an established credit history and owns a lot of assets, the credit risk is low.

Loan-to-Value

Ratio: The ratio of the value of a property being financed to the amount of money being borrowed for the purchase; also known as LTV ratio. This ratio is calculated by dividing the amount of the loan by the appraised value of the property being financed; for example, if the appraised value of a home being purchased is $100, 000 and the loan amount is  $50,000, the loan-to-value ratio is 50% (i.e., $50, 000/$100, 000 = 0.5).  Loan-to-Value Ratio = Loan Amount ÷ Appraised Value

These article of business terms have been derived from common usage and are presented for informational purposes only. It is suggested that you contact an attorney or other competent legal professional to obtain legal advice about the meaning of these terms.

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10 Steps To Start a Small Business

July 26, 2022 by Dean Noory

What Are The Steps To Start a Small Business?

Small businesses, which the U.S. Small Business Administration defines as companies with fewer than 500 employees, account for 99.9% of all businesses in America. More than 31.7 million at last count. And yet, only an estimated 79.4% of companies survive their first year in operation.

Increasing your chances for a successful small business launch involves sitting down and constructing a plan. The plan will lead you to the right idea, help you decide on the best market to focus on, make critical financial and legal decisions about your company, and even determine what kind of people you want to work with or hire.

Starting a small business can be one of the most rewarding but risky financial undertakings. And the largest barrier to entry is a lack of planning. Entrepreneurs will get excited about an idea they had but stumble because they didn’t stop to think about the steps involved in minimizing the risks to your business.

And you’re not just planning for success. In preparing steps to start a small business, you must also plan for failure or hard times. We’ll cover that and more in this guide.

The Importance Of Following a Plan For Your Small Business

Planning is essential no matter how revolutionary, genius, life-saving, or innovative your business idea can be. A plan will formalize your idea and streamline the creation of your business, letting you avoid the usual stumbling blocks along the way. You get a firmer grasp on your “known unknowns” and prepare for the true unknowns in case they spring up, like a recession or global pandemic. We’ll give you 12 steps to prepare you for success and hard times.

The 12 Steps To Start a Small Business (And Doing it Right!)

Don’t just google or look up videos at each important step in starting a small business. Follow these 12 steps to transform your great business idea into a successful legal organization.

1. Refine Your Business Idea

The first step is to land on the type of business you want. Most successful entrepreneurs first assess their abilities and goals and then pick a small business idea. Don’t force a business model onto yourself, even if you recognize its potential. If it’s not for you, avoid it, or look for other ways the project can motivate you, which will help you set goals and survive hard times.

Either way, learn what current leaders in the industry are doing so you can brainstorm on how to improve it. Figure out if you can do it better by making it cheaper, faster, or higher quality, or perhaps just introduce it to your local market.

If it’s a new product or innovative service, it’s even more important to develop a solid business plan based on past examples of success.

Pick Your Name (A Good One!)

Whatever business idea you pick, don’t get ahead of yourself and decide on a name. The name must come after you have refined your idea and determined its value and must serve your business plan first and foremost.

Choose a name that goes with your brand identity and will not clash with the type of products and services you will offer in the minds of your potential customers.

After settling on the name, protect it. Register your entity’s name, the trademark, and your website’s domain name as soon as possible.

2. Conduct Market Research

Market research means confirming or refining your business idea after looking at consumer and economic trends. Look at the latest and historical data about your industry, and compare it to your potential consumer base. This will either confirm your business idea is great or if it still needs more work.

Look at demographic information like age, wealth, race, language, growth rates, interest, and even politics. Reduce risk to your business by knowing your market well.

3. Write Down Your Business Plan

This is where you get down to the meat of the work. A business plan is a roadmap to setting up the business, growing it, and funding it. You will use the plan to convince others to invest in your business, either with money or by working with you. A plan will convince others you’re serious about your effort.

Ask yourself a few essential questions while writing your plan. What purpose does your business serve? Who are your target customers? What goals do you have in mind for your business? How will you finance starting your business? Is there truly a demand for what your business will offer?

Consider Having an Exit Plan

One question you should also prepare to answer is what to do if your business doesn’t work out. Just like boarding a plane or entering a building, you need to know where the emergency exits are located in case the worst happens. Make sure you plan ahead and consider this when contemplating taking out insurance on your company, assets, the type of structure you want for your business, and how to acquire funding. Protect your workers, family, investors, and yourself from failure.

4. Assess Your Finances and Secure Funding

There’s no business without money. Even non-profit corporations need financial security. Objectives will need resources and funding behind them, whether you’re starting or expanding.

Plenty of startups falter due to running out of money before even having a chance to turn a profit. One major mistake is underestimating the amount of capital needed to launch. Although the optimal strategy is to get the right amount of funding, it’s better to overestimate than to come short just a few months after starting.

Perform a break-even analysis for your product or services with this simple formula: Fixed Costs ÷ (Average Price – Variable Costs) = Break-Even Point.

Moreover, keep your expenses in check and don’t overspend on fancy equipment that will do the same job as those half the price, nor spend extravagantly on new offices and huge salaries for executives that haven’t yet proven their worth. Keep costs as low as possible to turn a profit within the first 60 to 90 days in businesses, but add a bit of a 20% “burn rate” to your budget so that unexpected incidents don’t catch you off guard.

Once you’ve determined how much to spend, you’ll need to know where to get the money from — the startup capital. Some entrepreneurs might decide to start a small business with their savings after working as employees for all their life, but many will want to make the jump to being small business owners but don’t have all the funds yet.

In the latter case, there are several ways to acquire startup capital, including business loans, investors, grants, and even crowdfunding. Which one you choose will depend on several factors, like your personal creditworthiness, current interest rates, the feasibility of your business plan, the industry you want to break into, and more questions you’ll need to answer.

Most small business owners look to small business loans for startup funding. Loans will help them keep their equity in the stake of the company without needing to partner with others. There are also equipment loans and leases, cash advances, and other forms of financing.

What is The Best Way To Fund Your Small Business?

Get in touch with loan specialists like Quick Capital Funding, who offer businesses and companies multiple financing and loan options to fit their needs. Business financing is made simple thanks to our services and extensive networks of investors. Equipment financing, working capital loans, long and short-term loans, SBA aid, invoice factoring, merchant cash advances, and ore.

You can apply online through a fast and easy online application. Afterward, a loan specialist will contact you and review your needs and options, and you can have your funding in as little as a day.

5. Choose Your Legal Business Structure

A small business can take many forms depending on the structure you choose. Before registering your company, decide what type of entity is best for you and your goals. The business structure will have legal and administrative consequences, from how taxes are filed in your business to just how much you are liable for when things go wrong.

Types of Business Structures

The most common types of business structures are sole proprietorships, limited liability companies (LLC), partnerships (also known as LLP in many states), and corporations. Each of these four has its pros and cons.

LLC

A limited liability company (LLC) is among the country’s most common. It varies by state, but overall, an LLC will let you take advantage of the benefits of both a corporation and a partnership because it protects you from personal liability in most circumstances. This way, you will not risk your personal assets (vehicles, property, savings accounts) if your LLC is sued or is facing bankruptcy. Nonetheless, one disadvantage of an LLC is that you are considered self-employed, which means you must pay your won employment taxes and contributions towards Medicare and Social Security. LLCs are good for small businesses that might be medium to high-risk industries.

LLP

Similar to an LLC, limited liability partnerships (LLP), or simply partnerships, are those companies where each partner’s liability is limited to the amount they invested into the business. They’re not complicated in their structure and are good options for businesses with several owners, groups of professionals (most attorneys form partnerships this way), and those who are testing their ideas before going at it alone.

Sole Proprietorship

This one is self-explanatory. You own the business completely, meaning all the profits will go to you. However, you’ll also be responsible for all of the company’s debts, obligations, and even your personal credit score will be affected by that of the company. If the business gets sued, you will too.

Corporation

Here you separate your company from yourself and create a distinct legal entity. You are not personally liable for your business, and while there are several types of corporations, the two most common types are c-corporations and s-corporations. Corporations offer the strongest shield for owners against personal liability, although it costs much more in taxes, operational expenses, reporting, and record-keeping.

C-Corp vs. S-Corp

Unlike regular corporations, also called c-corporations, an s-corporation is designed to avoid the double taxation that happens to c-corporations. Having an s-corp means that some profits, but also losses, can be passed to the owners directly in the form of personal income so that it avoids corporate tax rates. Not all states allow this, and all businesses must first check with the IRS if they qualify for s-corp status.

6. Get Your Business a Federal and State Tax ID

After the structure is locked down, quickly register your company and its tax ID. Just like an individual needs a social security number or personal identification, a company needs its Employer Identification Number (EIN). The EIN will be used to pay federal taxes, hire employees, open bank accounts, and apply for loans, licenses, and permits. An EIN is not needed in some cases, as is in the case if you’re the sole proprietor and have no employees but yourself. Still, an EIN might help to separate your personal and business taxes, or just in case you decide to hire later.

There might also be the need for a state tax ID number for permits, state taxes, and other requirements.

And if you want to trademark your brand, product, or invention, file with the United States Patent and Trademark Office once you’ve created your business.

7. Apply For Licenses and Permits

To legally operate a new business, you must comply with all federal, state, and local government laws and regulations. Depending on the type of business and service you offer, you might need one or more permits to operate, or perhaps even licenses. Restaurants are some of the businesses that require the most permits and licenses, for example.

8. Open a Business Bank Account

We’ve already discussed the need to keep your personal and business finances and information separate, and a bank account is among the first things you must do for your business. Managing your taxes and cash flow with a business account is much easier and more efficient. Open one to start accepting and spending money under your business’ name. Just like for individuals, there are checking, savings, and credit card accounts and merchant services accounts. These latter accounts will permit you to accept customer credit and debit card transactions.

Consider a Business Credit Card

Getting a business credit card after opening an account is a good option. If you get a large enough limit approved, take advantage of it. This way, it builds your company’s credit history without resorting only to big loans and grants. It’s also easier to pay everyday expenses with one.

9. Protect Your Business With Insurance

We’re in the part of the guide where a lot of business owners might start getting confident and think they can skip steps. Don’t skip this one. Get business insurance even before opening your business. This is part of the thought process about planning for your future and emergencies. Take out insurance to deal with property damage, theft, or even lawsuits. Be protected.

10. Hire The Best Team

This might sound obvious; who wants to hire bad people? But something, hiring people at the start who are just “good enough” is not actually good enough. Hire a great team to get your company up and running. At the end of the day, the product is built by people.

Before deciding to hire, ask yourself how much work you’ll need, whether you’ll need help, and what kind of help? Think about the skills required to start your small business and then decide who to hire and how many.

Some common and essential roles are inventory manager, customer service coordinator, ads specialist, marketer, graphic designer, and social media manager.

11. Get The Right Financial Software and Tools

You have the money, the office, the people, the plan, the idea. What about the tools? Business owners should always value good software and hardware. One of the best ways to alleviate a lot of tedious work when launching and running a business is with great software tools.

Automate and streamline as much as possible, especially in project management, accounting, email marketing, ads, website design and administration, and the online store.

One note of caution about tools is that there’s always a real risk of getting too many of them. You don’t want your team to spend more time using a project management tool than actually working.

12. Market Your Business

We’re almost done. Even before your small business’s first day, you need to have your marketing and advertising figured out. Think about your brand, which is much more than a logo and name, and how you want people to perceive you when interacting with your small business.

Keep bringing in new customers constantly to grow and reach your goals. That will depend on your marketing tacts that attract, engage, and keeps customers. Now, a lot of the heavy lifting in marketing is done online, with some help from traditional media. Do press releases for your new business, open social media accounts, and get yourself on Google’s radar as soon as possible through a Google My Business (GMB) account.

In truth, you’ll likely need another entire plan just for marketing, going beyond your launch to build your clientele and get the word out about your company continuously.

Build a Website and Optimize for SEO

As mentioned above, there’s no longer a distinction between marketing and digital marketing. Regular marketing now includes your website and overall online presence, which are key to your success. Making your website optimized for search engines (SEO) is as important, if not more, than a physical location. Your Google My Business account is critical because it will dictate how you appear in Google’s search results and Google Maps, making yourself visible to millions of people.

Develop a Social Media Strategy

Along with being found on Google, being seen on social media is another key piece of modern marketing and sales strategy. A lot of business is now conducted through Facebook, Instagram, and other platforms, and you should always be aware of any leads and opportunities that might come from those platforms. Never take social media for granted.

Bottom Line

We hope this will help you as a launching pad for more research and will leave you with the foundations for starting your own small business. It might be challenging and will mean a lot of work in the coming years, but there’s now more help than ever online and in the real world for those looking to make it on their own as small business owners.

And remember, if you need any help with funding for your small business project, contact the Quick Capital Funding team, which is always available to answer all your questions and help with the small business loan you need. Services you can trust. Contact Quick Capital Funding now!

How to Calculate and Manage Your Business’s Working Capital Ratio

How to Calculate and Manage Your Business’s Working Capital Ratio

by Dean Noory | February 15, 2023
The working capital ratio is a financial metric that...
Read More
What You Should Know About Net Working Capital

What You Should Know About Net Working Capital

by Dean Noory | January 3, 2023
What is Net Working Capital? Net working capital is...
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Working Capital Loans vs. Equity Financing: Which is Better for Your Business?

by Dean Noory | January 2, 2023
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Top Financial Challenges That Small Businesses Face

June 23, 2022 by Dean Noory

How Financial Problems Cause Small Businesses to Fail

Several typical financial struggles can fall upon proprietors of small businesses, all of which could be prevented with adequate planning and the appropriate financial instruments. As you start a new chapter in your life by having a small business, this article will give you an idea of some common financial problems that you should be on the lookout for.

The 7 Most Common Financial Problems That Your Small Business Can Face

Small businesses may face a lot of financial problems and business challenges if not planned well. However, up next are the most common financial problems of starting a business, so if you are a business, or are thinking about starting your own, then you should stay alert for the following:

1. Poor Cash Flow Management

Poor cash flow management is one of the most common small business challenges. While running a business has some risks, it is possible to better prepare for the future by keeping a careful eye on your cash flow. There are many different ways to keep track of your company’s cash flow. If you monitor your cash flow, you’ll be able to stay on top of obligations like paying staff and vendors. Many small-business owners are concerned about rapidly accruing debt.

2. Mixing Business and Personal Accounts

Many small business owners’ personal and corporate accounts can be difficult to understand. Cash flow management and tax difficulties might arise if business and personal accounts are used for activities or monies related to the firm. You also need to avoid using your business credit or debit card for personal purchases if you want great financial management.

3. Incurring in Too Much Debt

Taking out a credit card in the hopes of making money in the future is a normal business practice. Similarly, you may wish to make preparations for seasonal events by increasing your marketing or inventory levels. But by purchasing goods and services with no promise of return, you are putting your business at risk. Be careful about acquiring too much debt with little to no point to it.

4. Operating Without a Set Budget

Investing big sums of money in your business could be risky. Avoid making major purchases until you have calculated the possible return on your investment if you wish to reinvest in your company. The purchase of an espresso machine to offer consumers coffee may increase earnings, but it will also temporarily tie up your cash. Be careful not to overspend on unneeded beginning costs to regulate your cash flow better. You’ll be able to increase your reinvestment in your business as it expands.

5. Insufficient Marketing and Advertising

You’re handing customers over to your competitors if you don’t keep bringing in new ones. Companies with growth and profitability aspirations, on the other hand, need a steady stream of new customers to help them accomplish their objectives.

Marketing tactics that attract, engage, and keep customers must be employed by business owners in order to secure these clients. This is an area where companies can really shine if they get it properly. With the limited resources in small businesses, branding, business model and creating awareness can be hard. You will have to differentiate your brand to propel it forward.

6. Failing to Raise Capital

In the last five years, one out of every five small business owners who asked for funding was turned down—according to Nav’s Small Business American Dream Gap Report. Additionally, 82% of all business owners surveyed had no idea how to interpret their organizations’ credit scores. According to the report, those with a better awareness of their company credit scores are 41% more likely to be approved for a loan.

7. Being Unprepared For Emergency Expenses

One of the most common mistakes is not having enough money in the emergency fund or buffer space. You can safeguard yourself against unexpected expenses by setting away a specific amount of liquid cash for emergencies. According to a J.P. Morgan Chase research from 2016, small firms have roughly 27 days of cash on hand, and then they run out in case of emergencies.

8. Not Being Tax Compliant & Getting Audited

When it comes to the end of the fiscal year, planning ahead can save you money and keep you from being surprised by a tax bill. According to the IRS, small businesses make various tax mistakes, including underpaying estimated taxes, failing to deposit employment taxes, paying late, and failing to separate business and personal spending.

It’s challenging enough to handle cash without adding to the difficulty of overpaying the IRS. Despite this, up to 85% of small businesses overpay federal income taxes each year. Others underpay and get up in trouble with the IRS or other government agencies. Working through both circumstances takes time, effort, and money.

Payment isn’t one of the most pressing challenges that businesses confront when it comes to federal taxes. This disproportionately burdens small businesses compared to their larger competitors. According to the IRS, businesses with less than $1 million in revenue are responsible for approximately two-thirds of all compliance costs.

9. Managing Payroll Poorly

Payroll is the largest expense for most small enterprises and non-profits that provide services, accounting for up to 70% to 80% of total expenses. The most significant financial challenge for a small business owner is determining how to best utilize labor costs. How can you eliminate time leaks and boost employee productivity? Automated job costing is the answer.

When you use job costing, you may see profit and loss by client, job, service, and team. When you look at the profitability margins for each, you can determine which ones aren’t functioning well. That’s when you’ll be able to take over managerial accounting.

10. High Employee Turnover

One of the biggest small business challenges is making sure employees are motivated to work hard in service of the business. Because small businesses generally have to compete with larger firms that normally offer a higher wage and a more comprehensive benefits package, attracting and maintaining competent personnel at an affordable cost has become more difficult than ever before as a result of the pandemic.

Retention is another issue. Onboarding new personnel can be time and money-consuming. Bringing on an employee may cost a company up to $4,000, which can be difficult for a small business to handle, so ensuring they’re a good fit for your company before recruiting is crucial. Employees at small businesses are also more inclined to look for prospects for growth elsewhere if those opportunities aren’t available in their current employment.

How Quick Capital Funding Can Help

We’ve teamed up with top investors to develop a comprehensive answer to all small business finance problems. We use cutting-edge technology to assess your company’s success rather than your personal credit.

Unlike the Small Business Administration (SBA), we devised a simple and rapid method of borrowing funds for business success. We’ll go through hoops to get your company the money it needs to expand right now. If you need help, call our team at Quick Capital Funding today!

FAQ

  • What is the biggest challenge facing small businesses?

    Simply said, the most difficult task for small businesses is to maintain a healthy cash flow. As well as customer acquisition.

  • What are the signs of a failing business?

    Some signs that indicate a potential problem with finances are:

    • Low amounts of profit.
    • A decrease in the amount of revenue generated an increase in the amount of interest paid.
    • Accounting concerns for businesses
  • How can a business prevent having financial problems?

    Budgeting should be the first order of business for owners of small businesses, as well as:

    • Figuring out how to keep your existing customers and creating a customer base program. Create buyer personas and loyalty programs to help with the business model.
    • Clearly define the terms of payment and any deadlines.
    • Determining the most effective approaches to cutting costs.
    • Investing in crisis management such as supply chain disruption.

We know that the world of loans is not an easy one to wander, less when you have a small business to run. We hope this guide has given you an idea of how to stay alert and tackle any financial problems you might have when it comes to your small business. The Quick Capital Funding team is always available to answer all your questions and get you the loan you’re looking for!

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